The Georgia Cup

March 28, 2019 - The 22nd annual Georgia Cup Match!

This year's Georgia Cup Match will be held on Thursday, March 28th, 2019 between Viktor Hovland (US Amateur Champion) and Jovan Rebula (British Amateur Champion).   This is the 22nd edition of the elite event held at The Golf Club of Georgia.  The match will take place on the Lakeside Course with tee off scheduled for 1:00PM. 

Viktor Hovland:  Viktor is a 21 year old out of Oslo, Norway and plays his college golf at Oklahoma State University.  Viktor became the 118th U.S. Amateur Champion by defeating Devon Bling 6&5 in his championship match.  Viktor is the first Norwegian and fifth OSU player to win the U.S. Amateur Championship.  To read more about Viktor and his career accomplishments, please click here.  

Jovan Rebula:  Jovan is a 20 year old out of South Africa and plays his college golf at Auburn University.  Jovan became the 123rd British Amateur Champion by defeating Robin Dawson 3&2 in his championship match at Royal Aberdeen.  Jovan is the first South African in more than half a century to win the British Amateur Championship.  A fun little note about Jovan, he is the nephew of Ernie Els.  To read more about Jovan and his career accomplishments, please click here.

The British Amateur champions lead the overall series, 12-9.

The Golf Club of Georgia looks forward to hosting these two elite champions before they head to take on Augusta.  

12:45 PM      Announcements, Coin Toss & Player Introductions (First Tee, Lakeside Course)
1:00 PM        First Ball Struck
5:00 PM        Awards Reception to Follow

 - This event is open to the public!

Victor Hovland - US Amateur Champion

Jovan Rebula - British Amateur Champion

Established at The Golf Club of Georgia in 1998, The Georgia Cup annually brings together the reigning United States and British Amateur Champions in advance of the Masters.

The Georgia Cup presents a special opportunity for galleries attending at The Golf Club of Georgia. Entry is complimentary as spectators are invited to spend the day with the two finest amateur golfers in the world. In the spirit and intimacy of the Walker Cup matches, fans can walk with the players, unhindered by gallery ropes and able to enjoy a unique perspective. Over the years, The Georgia Cup has grown from an intimate Club event to a unique amateur championship known on both sides of the Atlantic.

All-Time Results

  • 1998 Matt Kuchar (U.S.) def. Craig Watson (British)
  • 1999 Sergio Garcia (British) def. Hank Kuehne (U.S.)
  • 2000 David Gossett (U.S.) def. Graeme Storm (British)
  • 2001 Mikko Ilonen (British) def. Jeff Quinney (U.S.)
  • 2002 Michael Hoey (British) def. Bubba Dickerson (U.S.)
  • 2003 Ricky Barnes (U.S.) def. Alejandro Larrazabal (British)
  • 2004 Gary Wolstenholme (British) def. Nick Flanagan (U.S.)
  • 2005 Ryan Moore (U.S.) def. Stuart Wilson (British)
  • 2006 Brian McElhinney (British) def. Edoardo Molinari (U.S.)
  • 2007 Richie Ramsay (U.S.) def. Julien Guerrier (British)
  • 2008 Colt Knost (U.S.) def. Drew Weaver (British)
  • 2009 Danny Lee (U.S.) def. Reinier Saxton (British)
  • 2010 Matteo Manassero (British) def. Byeong-Hun An (U.S.)
  • 2011 Peter Uihlein (U.S.) def. Jin Jeong (British)
  • 2012 Bryden Macpherson (British) def. Kelly Kraft (U.S.)
  • 2013 Alan Dunbar (British) def. Steven Fox (U.S.)
  • 2014 Garrick Porteous (British) def. Matt Fitzpatrick (U.S.)
  • 2015 Gunn Yang (U.S.) def. Bradley Neil (British)
  • 2016 Romain Langasque (British) def. Bryson DeChambeau (U.S.)
  • 2017 Scott Gregory (British) def. Curtis Luck (U.S.)
  • 2018 Harry Ellis (British) def. Doc Redman (U.S.)